Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sarahfrom Dearborn Heights

Can't wait to go back

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a beautiful motel set way back in the woods. It was very quiet and peaceful. The staff was very friendly and the room was cozy and comfortable. I will definitely return here next year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your great experience! We look forward to seeing you again in the 2015 season.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robertfrom Naperville, Illinois

weekend Get Away

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was an excellent place to stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Standish, Michigan

Nice woodsy relaxed setting near Gilmore Museum

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The setting was nice.
Cons: Customer Service. The lady at check-in was very nice, however uniformed about meal specials. Waitresses (bar) and the guy at check-out need help
Check-in was good. Upon check-in I was told that pork chops was on special in the lodge for dinner. The special board called it pork filet. Actually, it was a piece of thick cut ham wrapped in bacon. Not a pork chop or a filet. The room isn't at all what is advetized. The picture used in the advertizing of a small cabin/cottage isn't what you get for 159.95/night. You actually get a very small room in a larger building. Free WiFi is offered, however I don't know how one is to use it short of justing sitting on the bed. The room did not have a desk, table and even a chair to sit in. The room was just big enough to have 2 double beds and that was it. Upon seeing the original picture of the place, I thought it would be good for my wife (a college instructor) to work on her school stuff while I was at meetings all day Saturday. However, she came with me and worked on her stuff at the museum where she foulnd a place to spread out things. Upon checking out I told the guy about my concerns and all he could say is that I was preaching to the choir, he knew the rooms were small, but there was nothing he could do about it. The room rate is a corporate thing and they are what they are. After additional discussion he did offer a $20./ night discount. He really could have cared less about my thoughts. It is almost like he had heard the story before, because he was ready with excuses. All in all room way over priced for what you are getting !
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent visit. I am sorry to hear of the problems experienced with your stay and the way the team handled them. Your feedback has been shared with management staff at the property. The King bed guestroom is located in a cottage style building. The building has 3 separate units of this type in it, each with private entrance and porch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Golf
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by David Daffernfrom Ann Arbor, MI

Bait and Switch

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
The picture on the website depicted a beautiful room. What we got was like a 1-star motel. Everything was extremely old and dated. The carpet was dirty. The lighting was bad. The room was crowded.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent visit. The pictures for each room type are accurate to the room's at the property. Please note room type details below to help with future bookings. The King bed guestroom is located in a cabin style building and features 3 units of this type within the cabin building. Each of the King bed guestrooms has its own private entrance and screened in patio. The double bedded rooms are located in a lodge style building with exterior entrances and are more rustic in nature. I hope this helps with future bookings at our property, see you soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Andreafrom Battle Creek

Beautiful Golf Course and Lodge

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
These were the most comfortable hotel beds. One of the best hamburgers as well. Will definitely go back
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice golf course

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Beautiful grounds, golf course and lodge. Staff was very friendly and helpful
Cons: Rooms had a musty odor
Location: Kalamazoo nearby
beautiful lodge and golf course Rooms had a bit of a musty odor
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Christinafrom michigan

not worth $100 a night

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Outdated, musty, dirty room, bathtub was filthy. Used towel hanging on the door. Restaurant not open and this place is far from any civilization. The golf course looked nice but I didn't use it. Definitely not worth the money. Paid $5 a day for a filthy mini fridge. Overall not happy with this stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to share feedback on your recent stay. I will be sending this information to the managers of the property to review with their team. I am sorry to hear of the issues and am confident the team will resolve them for future visits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com