Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Standish, Michigan

Nice woodsy relaxed setting near Gilmore Museum

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The setting was nice.
Cons: Customer Service. The lady at check-in was very nice, however uniformed about meal specials. Waitresses (bar) and the guy at check-out need help
Check-in was good. Upon check-in I was told that pork chops was on special in the lodge for dinner. The special board called it pork filet. Actually, it was a piece of thick cut ham wrapped in bacon. Not a pork chop or a filet. The room isn't at all what is advetized. The picture used in the advertizing of a small cabin/cottage isn't what you get for 159.95/night. You actually get a very small room in a larger building. Free WiFi is offered, however I don't know how one is to use it short of justing sitting on the bed. The room did not have a desk, table and even a chair to sit in. The room was just big enough to have 2 double beds and that was it. Upon seeing the original picture of the place, I thought it would be good for my wife (a college instructor) to work on her school stuff while I was at meetings all day Saturday. However, she came with me and worked on her stuff at the museum where she foulnd a place to spread out things. Upon checking out I told the guy about my concerns and all he could say is that I was preaching to the choir, he knew the rooms were small, but there was nothing he could do about it. The room rate is a corporate thing and they are what they are. After additional discussion he did offer a $20./ night discount. He really could have cared less about my thoughts. It is almost like he had heard the story before, because he was ready with excuses. All in all room way over priced for what you are getting !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice golf course

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Beautiful grounds, golf course and lodge. Staff was very friendly and helpful
Cons: Rooms had a musty odor
Location: Kalamazoo nearby
beautiful lodge and golf course Rooms had a bit of a musty odor
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Christina from michigan

not worth $100 a night

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Outdated, musty, dirty room, bathtub was filthy. Used towel hanging on the door. Restaurant not open and this place is far from any civilization. The golf course looked nice but I didn't use it. Definitely not worth the money. Paid $5 a day for a filthy mini fridge. Overall not happy with this stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Richard T. from Yarrow

Close to location of wedding event.

Posted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel accomodations were good. Staff were polite and helpful. Morning hot breakfast was a big plus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2014 by David, Hotel Management
Glad that you had a great experience, our complimentary breakfast is a great start to the day :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kimba from Chicago

Very Nice Setting

Posted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Forget-Me-Not room with king size bed was very spacious and comfortable. Room had a large seating area, desk and cute, screened-in porch with chairs. Nice setting in the woods next to the golf course. Only issues were that the room was extremely cold and we could not turn off the air (apparently controlled by adjacent room) and the fact that check-out time is 10am, earlier than many hotels. Late check-out was not available because the resort was sold out the next day, but we would not have chosen it anyway because of the $50 surcharge, which we felt was excessive.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Dawn G from Richmond

Disappointed

Posted Aug 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Much confusion upon check-in. When we did get to our room it smelled extremely musty. Two of the three windows did not open, as the cranks were broken. Luckily I could pull one open from outside. There was a damp towel hanging on the back of the bathroom door and a glass ring on the paper pad beside bed. This made me wonder if there was more confusion and maybe someone else was also checked into our room so I called the desk. Housekeeping came to get the towel and tried to assure me the rooms were cleaned, just the towel was forgotten. The beds were made but I still wonder.... At checkout I asked about the mustiness and was told its not so bad when it's hot out. What??? My husband has allergies and it was quite an unpleasant stay for him. No discounts were offered. For the Price we paid - we are definitely not satisfied. I expected much nicer accommodations than a smelly room with damp carpeting and staff that should stick to setting up tee times for the golfers and not checking in overnight guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2014 by David, Hotel Management
We apologize that your experience was not up to the standards we strive to achieve. We will share your feedback with our team. Thank you for taking your time to provide feedback on your visit. We hope to see you soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by phil from sylvania, oh

out of the way - but worth the stay

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
will stay again when I have time to golf
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Terrie from Michigan

rustic get away

Posted Jun 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was not to far from home. the room was nice too. The burgers at the pub were the best we ever had. I would gladly stay there again. The staff was very friendly, nice and helpful. The breakfast that comes with room was way more then we expected. The rustic wooded views were very peaceful. We will be going back in the fall for the fall color changes.