Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Carol from Cheshire

Chocolate box setting

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely location. We stayed in Dandelion - self catering. A few downsides. This is a working farm, several facets to business, mainly horses and weddings venue/business conferences. So unfortunately - other noisy guests meant sleepless nights for my partner and I. On all 3 nights we where awoken at 4am, with my partner having to leave 6am for work. Not good. Add to the fact my partner has terminal cancer, this means we cant consider this as suitable. We are looking elsewhere for a long term let.;-( such a shame. One final area for improvement. SC you expect to keep accommodation clean yourself, thats easy with just two. But you do expect the kitchen rubbish to be taken daily by the B&B. Ours wasn't touched for all of the four day let.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by candg from Oxfordshire

Beautiful rural location

Posted Aug 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
We booked this B & B at the last minute to get away from it all in a country location. We were so pleased to find Herons Farm. The location was really beautiful and peaceful and we were kindly given Dandelion cottage - although we had only booked a room, which was lovely. We had a good breakfast and were made very welcome. We would definatly stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Gibson from Yorkshire

Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location for family wedding
5 out of 5
Recommended
by irishpaul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kevin from UK

Have a change, and give it a try

Posted Jun 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a very different hotel. The owener, Maggie, will make you very welcome as well as a cup of tea/coffee. This is a B&B, so if you like non-discript places with no character, go stay elsewhere. The rooms are unique, I was even given a choice, one of which was the one mentioned below by the US guy - and the bathroom is across a little corrider (with a heafty curtain - but there are door on both the room and loo! Not to mention the bathroom, which features a Japanees deap-tub plus a very large shower, is bigger than some whole rooms I have stayed in. I actualy elected for a room at the front as the matress was firmer, as thats my prefrence. This turned out to have a shower cubical that doubles as a steam room. How may places have you stayed where you have a private steam room? Also a 42" LCD TV with FreeSAT. Maggie will add in a full cooked breakfast at a small cost. I was even given a tour of the recently coverted barn with rooms in a "cottage style" which would be great for collegues attending events or courses in the area. These have small kittchens and microwaves. Dinner is not available (or did not seem to be) but there are plenty of local pubs which are a mile or two away or even Pangbourne a little further. The hotel could do with a bit of maintenance, but that seems to be under way - you can't do it all at once, I'm sure they will get there. As a last bonus - free WiFi, running at around 3 to 5 Meg, with no silly login or restrictions, but play fair with it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing

Posted Jul 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
When I think B&B I think charm. Unfortunately Herons Farm is completely devoid of charm. Personally I would have preferred to stay at a basic chain motel. As you approach the lodging there is no clear indication of where to check in. Fortunately someone observed me wandering around and directed me to the front door. There is no separation of the guest quarters from owners' part of the house. The furnishing are sparse and shabby. The floor is creaky. My room did not have en suite bathroom and you had to cross a little hallway to get to the bathroom. This little hallway was separated from the main hallway by a flimsy drape. The bathroom door had a silly latch that you would find at the hardware for 99 cents. What do you do when the owner asks if everything is OK? It was too painful to be honest, I simply mumbled it's OK. If you are operating a lodging there are some things I would expect you to know without having to ask.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Waldon

Beautiful Historic Farm

Posted Jul 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
If you like Holiday Inns, do not stay here. If, you prefer beautiful countryside, a house which dates back to the 1600's in part and the excitement of a world class equestrian facility, then Herons Farm is a must. The house is charming, the owners could not have been more helpful including insisting on preparing us a cooked breakfast at 6:00 a.m. because we had an early flight! We will definitely return, but next time it will be for a week's stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay

Posted Jul 9, 2012 on Hotels.com