Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Laughable!

Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Felt super sad for the Labradoodle dogs! To me they were not very well taken care of. The gas fireplace would randomly turn on in the middle of the night. Ruth was super nice!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kennethfrom Illinois

Seen better days

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Could be much, much more
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Angela R.from Illinois

Overpriced and Disappointing

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a Labor Day weekend option that was chosen from a limited number of places available. I do not understand why it has such high ratings. Upon seeing the outside, I was tempted to cancel on the spot. The land where the cabins are located is not very nice and the cabins are fairly close together. The owners would not answer there phone and there was no one to greet us upon arrival - just an envelope taped to the door. The water is well water, which is gray and has a rust smell as it doesn't appear that they filter the water. There was a basket left for us at night which contained bananas, yogurt and store bought pastries. For the price, I would have expected something gourmet or home cooked rather than store bought. They also have alpacas which do not seem to be well cared for - there were so many flys on the animals the poor things could not open their eyes. I have stayed in Galena many times - there are so many other and much nicer places to stay for less money - avoid this place!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Susanfrom Lombard, IL

Cabin

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The cabins are run down and in need of repairs. We were in the Jackson cabin. Bugs were getting into the cabin from the door and the duct tape the owner put around the door was not keeping the bugs out. The bathroom is atrocious and the water is undrinkable as it comes out grey before it turns clear. The "continental breakfast" consists of a piece of fresh fruit, yogurt and coffee, but bring your own water to make the coffee and watch most of the water leak out of the coffee pot as they also need replacing. In addition, the alpacas on the property are not well taken care of and are constantly covered with flies and reflects on how well the property is taken care of.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by S K & H

not worth the high price

Posted Aug 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Could of been cleaner, hair in the bathtub. The animals were not groomed and the golden doodles were hyper so you couldn't play with them. At least the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was something you could pick up at a convenience store. Could be nice if it was kept up better. The owner was nice though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Bryon and Missyfrom Schaumburg

nice and rural

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just the way a log cabin with modern amenities should be! Very quiet and comfortable. Super happy with it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Norwayfrom Norway

Just what we were looking for!

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our stay at Galena Lodge Cabin. It was basically just what we were looking for, a cosy cottage with peaceful surroundings but still very close to Galena. The animals at the cottage area are super cute and definitely gives the place that little extra touch. Would definitely go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by terryfrom hoffman estates, il

Nice log home close to skiing

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: Very rustic
Cons: Need to upgrade the tv
Location: Skiing not to far from town
Nice place to stay for skiing or go into town it was hard to find the office