Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA, USA

Great Scottish hospitality.

Posted Oct 19, 2014
This hotel is a y staff makes the trip worthwhile.pleasant surprise fairly close to Glasgow. It is pit of the way but the froendl
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from derbyshiere

1 Night Only

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: bed
Location: Easy to find.not to far to moerway links
Check in staff very good. We checked in about 4pm Key system explained/directions to room/We where asked if we wanted to book an evening meal.This we declined and said we would decide later,they said allright no problem. faults found in room immediately where. (1)2 out 3 bathroom lights not working they operated from one switch. (2) a hinge on cabinet door brocken.These where reported immediately to person who checked us in.He said sorry he will report it straight away ,maintenance would attend following day.Nothing had been done or said when we left on Saturday morning.i feel these Faults where of an ongoing nature and not just happened.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good restaurant and rooms

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: location by the marina was nice, and the restaurant was excellent
Cons: covered walkway between the bar/restaurant and the rooms
We stayed 1 night on the way to the Ryder Cup, and enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant and the room was great too. Staff very friendly and helpful and the bar and restaurant were cozy with a great menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N. Ireland

Chic comfortable roadhouse style hotel.

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: The food and the staff.
Cons: The breakfast service - maybe they had a problem in the kitchen.
Location: The canal is pretty and fishing, kayaking etc I are available. There are pleasant canal walks. This hotel is en route to Stirling from Glasgow.
Very clean, comfortable and friendly hotel. Food was excellent and reasonable priced. The breakfast was great but the service was very slow that morning. Had to send porridge back to be heated up, but otherwise wonderful. The location is picturesque and peaceful. Fed the ducks on the canal. The dinner in the evening was delicious with an imaginative menu. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We would go back and highly recommend the Boathouse.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal location

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Cons: Rooms are a bit dark and need more lighting. A bedside light on both sides of the bed would be useful.
Location: Kelpies are a must. Hill House at Helensburgh. Kelvingrove museum and Glasgow are worth seeing.
Very good modern rooms and location made access easy to Glasgow and even to Edinburgh. Close to train station with frequent cheap service to Glasgow city centre. Attached to very good restaurant well patronised by locals with something special to celebrate so book a table.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jen H from Southsea

Beautiful Surroundings

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Set in the gorgeous Auchinstarry Marina near Kilsyth, The Boathouse provides a comfortable stay in a beautiful setting. The rooms are large and comfortable, unfortunately there were a couple of cleanliness issues which let the room down. The service in the restaurant for breakfast was not particularly fast, on the weekend days there weren't really enough staff to meet demand, but the food was worth the wait! If you have time, hire bikes from the store on the marina and head down the canal to really appreciate the beautiful surroundings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Karen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Matt from Pinecliffe

Nice, but noisy

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed in the Clyde room which was lovely...However, it picked up noise from the nearby kitchen and the upstairs neighbors. It was a lovely room, but not a lovely night's sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Outstanding on all accounts

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Top class restaurant and bar. Room was super comfortable with excellent amenities. Staff were extremely courteous and went out of their way to make our stay worth while.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spain

A well located hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: The location and general atmosphere. Good restaurant.
Cons: The room we were allocated smelt of smoke and it was obvious that the previous occupants had smoked in the bathroom.
The hotel is very well located with the marina and canal providing a pleasant background. The staff were helpful which provided a very good atmosphere. The restaurant was very good and we had an excellent meal although prices were a little expensive. The previous occupants had smoked in the bathroom of the room and the area smelt of cigarette smoke. This should have been dealt with by the staff prior to our arrival. I pointed this matter out to the reception staff as I did not wish to have a problem when we left, and was offered another room, but the view from the alternative would have looked over the car park rather than the marina.