Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

19th century

Posted Jul 6, 2014
The hotel is out of the city center. Located in a rich neighborhood, the hotel is an old building with an old elevator that lift you to your room. Rooms are decorated in a style remembering Louis XIV . The bed is very comfortable and the toilet is a separate room from the shower. The restaurant of the Hotel was totally empty on a Saturday night, the food was good and service was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cossack girl from Portsmouth England

Hamburg holiday

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: It was in a nice area lots of shops and resturants to go, a bit out of the way from the city but the underground was right at the corner.
Cons: To try and get some engish channels great tv but could only look at it woupd have been really good to.
Location: the location was very good nice and qiuet but easy to find things to do .
My parner and i spent three nights in this lovely hotel were the staff are very friendly had an amazing bathroom the bed was large and very comfortable for Germany the breakfast was more than plenty yes we thourghly had a very lovely stay here .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with friendly staff

Posted May 14, 2014
Everything was as I would expect from a good hotel when on a business trip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Michael from Clifden, Ireland

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
A small homely oasis in a big city, with friendly helpful staff & most comfortable double room on the 4th floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maggie from London

Cosy, friendly and clean hotel in a great location

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Pros: Friendly and accommodating staff, comfortable and clean rooms, excellent bar manager
Location: Close to rail network, buses, restaurants/bars, breakfast bars, good shopping area, excellent huge market on Tuesday and Friday
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Christmas visit

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Very clean and comfortable
Cons: Breakfast was laid out in a very hot dining room for several hours.
Location: Great location in a good area of Hamburg. Just a very short walk from U bahn. Quiet,peaceful location
Staff were very helpful and friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Nick from Guernsey

Very friendly

Posted Oct 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice, suited our purpose perfectly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by cannes 444 from bournemouth

friendly staff

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
.4 nights stay. outstanding service from friendly staff nothing was to much trouble Breakfast outstanding buffet that kept us going all day so is not as expensive as other reviews say as we did not have to buy any food during the day. excellant bar open from 11am till late.Had one evening meal which we could not fault. We will be staying again next year. great location quite residential area 2 minutes from u barn stop and shops.Rooms may be older but housekeeping standards are very high. you will not be disapointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michael from Moncton, NB

Familiar with city is very satisfied with hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
My wife and I are familiar with Hamburg and the neighbourhood where Smolka is located. But we had never stayed there. Actually we did not know there was a hotel on that street. We enjoyed our stay very much. At night, the area is very quiet. The room was spacious enough for two large suitcases. The staff was very friendly. Thank God we did not have a car because parking on the street is a nightmare. If you don't mind public transportation, this hotel could not be better located. Buses and trains are within a short distance. In our opinion, good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by shostakovitch from Scotland

excellent location

Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed here for five nights. A friendly hotel with a superb bar and bar manager. The hotel is north of the centre of Hamburg but in a very pretty area with trees (and cyclists!) everywhere. I would be very happy to stay here again.