Ratings based on 581 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom West Hollywood, CA

Two nights in Hilo

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: It's run-down and needs updating. Breakfast was mediocre at best.
It was not what we were expecting. The beds were worn and not firm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Perfect place for me and my family, hotel staff were attentive and kind. Great experience!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Alaska

Convenient to airport, short taxi ride

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Late arrival convenience. Landscape plantings between hotel wings.
Cons: Requires updating
Location: Hilo Bay waters behind hotel, Liliuokalani Gardens are a 5 minute walk, Asian character, peaceful.
Has essence of being decades old. Under those circumstances it is suitable for less demanding travelers. Continental breakfast lacked variety. Limited.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad for a budget stay

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Everything you would expect for the price. We were surprised to have a continental breakfast which was toast, fruit, muffins and coffee. Main downfall was that our non-smoking room smelled like cigarettes. Staff was very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Close to beautiful Hilo Bay.

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness, room comfort and price. We loved the Hilo Bay area and the location of the hotel.
Cons: The condition of the hotel. Needs updating. The complimentary breakfast was disappointing.
Overall a very good experience. Have stayed in the past and will again in the future. Definitely prefer the room facing the greenery.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Old hotel with Super Aloha Friendliness.

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: The staff with their Aloha Spirit.
Cons: Parking can be difficult, especially on Thursday along Banyan Drive.
Uncle Billie's is an older establishment. The rooms are basic. The beds are clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are unfortunately dated. Fortunately, it was only me and our son staying while getting him settled in at UHH. We were happy to have the TV and mini-refrigerator. There were no bugs and a very comfortable breeze coming through the louvered (jealousy) blinds. Our room was near the Hilo Bay side and was super-super refreshing to hear the waves. We stayed nine nights and pretty much just came in to sleep. We, without our girls, couldn't complain.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

日本庭園に近いだけ

Posted Jan 25, 2015
仕事で2週間滞在。毎日ハウスキーピングするけど、シーツは要望しないと替えてくれなかった。掃除機もそうだった。朝食は毎日同じ。果物はパパイヤ、ジュースはグアバ1種のみ。プラス、トーストとコーヒー。2回しか利用しなかった。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Torrance, CA

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Been visiting and staying at Uncle Billys for the past several years. The staff has always been very tentative and friendly. I have always enjoyed my stay here
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down - don't go!

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything needs upgrades and cleaned up.
Location: Location is good.
This hotel is terribly run down. The ceiling in the bathroom was stained and tiles missing, the bath tub was stained, there were ants, we didn't even take showers it was so bad. The walls are very thin, you can hear the neighbors, the carpets are dirty. Do not go to this hotel, I can't imagine how it got a 3 1/2 star rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cheolfrom Korea

Good price

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
Not bad comparing the price