Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Candia Maris

Posted Jul 19, 2011 on Hotels.com
Et flott sted for avslapning, - rolig atmosfære og god mat. Folk som er ute etter mer fart bør se andre stedet :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Paris, France

parfat pour décompresser 1 semaine hors saison (mai)

Posted Jun 6, 2011
Chambre (Deluxe) impeccable, vue superbe. Barmen de la piscine et du lounge très serviables. Accès (vraiment) direct à la plage (sable) aménagée (transats). Bel Hotel, très bien entretenu. Spa confortable (et dans l'hotel). Rien aux environs si ce n'est 2 restaurants (privilégier celui à droite en sortant tenu par un véritable Grec qui produit son huile, son vin, très amène, avec Grappa et patisseries offertes en fin de repas, mais nous étions hors saison mai), 1 superette. Prévoir une voiture (location peu couteuse) si vous souhaitez visiter. il y a un grand Carrefour à 1km à peine. Attention suprpris par les tarifs pratiqués dans l'hotel (resto, boissons) Et les Crétois sont très sympathiques (je n'avais pas eu la même impression à Paros mais c'était en 94)
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Canterbury, Britain

A VERY FINE HOTEL

Posted Jun 5, 2011
The Candia Maris is very well located just outside Iraklion at the start of the beach area. It has three outdoor and two indoor pools (restrictions apply: one outdoor pool is reserved for bungalow residents; one indoor pool is part of a spa complex for which charges are levied). It has several good restaurants, an excellent gym, a tennis court and even a chapel. The staff are very helpful & friendly. We had a superb room (373) which was not overlooked and had view of the sea. The free wi-fi supposedly available only in the lobby worked in the room too, which was an unexpected bonus. The room was cleaned regularly & thoroughly. Nonetheless there were a few problems. Breakfast advertised as 7.30-10.30 actually closes at 10.00. Free car-parking (as advertised): NOT ANY MORE! The Spa is very expensive and you have to be a confident haggler to get a reduction after your initial visit (for which a reduction of 25 euros is given). The breakfast was good, apart from the coffee & fruit juices, both of which were found to be insipid. The beach-side Taverna opened irregularly and there was no live music as advertised; it was usually empty even when open.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It had NO Personality

Posted Oct 3, 2010 on Hotels.com
Hotel & Staff had no personality. They were superficially nice but not really helpful. I was there on my honeymoon and they gave me two beds. When I asked for a room with a King Size Bed - they said they would just push the two beds together. I said - there would be an uncomfortable gap between the beds & they assured me there would be no gap. There was a gap & I felt as if my new wife and I were in two different rooms on the 6th night of our marrriage. The room was secluded, clean & romantic but - in order to get to your car - you had to walk up stairs, down stairs, up ramps around the front of the hotel - it took about 10 miinutes to get to your car - in a seeming effort to trap you at the facilty - in order to get you to eat at their restaurants and drink at their bars. The food of which - was mediocre at best. There was one exceptional dish during the night time buffet - everything else was tough and dry and tasteless. The free morning buffet was decent though. They provided us with 60 euros in free spa treatments - but the spa was closed on Sunday and all appts were booked on Saturday when we arrived and we were leaving on Monday. What kind of a spa resort is closed on Sunday? That was bizarre. The beach itself was nice enough - but considering how the resort seems to own the beach - I would have expected somebody to come around and take food and drink orders while we were on the beach or the pool for that matter. That never happened. Also - they didn't have any raw seafood - oysters, clams, mussels - nothing - and this is supposed to be a beach resort. There were about 7 swimming pools on the site - but not one hottub or jacuzzi. Overall - it was quite a disappointing stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Jersey CI

Nice - But lacking in the finer touches expected from a 5 Star

Posted Sep 27, 2010
We have just come back, from a weeks holiday. Overall a very good standard of hotel/service, lovely modern decor throughout. Lovely pools, and amenities within the complex. For a 5 star hotel I was disappointed that the small touches such as slippers/ robes, good quality toiletries were not on offer at this hotel, within the standard of room we booked. Easy access to beach, for all age groups. Very safe general neighbourhood, although the area is slightly run down/basic. However, this can only be expected from an Eastern European country. A nice chance to step back away from our modern world. One comment of negativity would be the immense amount of Smokers/Smoking that was occurring in the hotel and the area as a whole. Fine if you are a smoker, but as non smokers I have to admit it did put a dampner on our trip due to the fact you could never get away from the passive smoke around you, especially when eating in the restaurants. A lot of the smoking was undertaken by the restaurant staff/shop staff in the local area. All in all we had a lovely trip, and it was just what we wanted - to sunbathe and do nothing but relax. However if you were staying longer and wanted to do more, I would recommend hiring a car or staying in a different area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Florence, SC

Excellent fcility great value.

Posted Sep 22, 2010
I have traveled Greece extensively usually staying at top star facilities and speak the language. I must say Candia Maris was one of the best if not the best facility I have stayed in Greece and definitely the best value. Everything from the staff to the rooms and meals met or exceeded my high expectations. Surprisingly nice and private beach for a morning or evening stroll. It's a winner! I wish the new owner (also founder) great success with it. It deserves it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Dubai

Will back for sure

Posted Sep 1, 2010
Very good hotel, staffs and amazing food
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom københavn

Afslapning i lækre omgivelser

Posted Aug 16, 2010 on Hotels.com
Lækkert hotel - men dyrt. Så man skal være forberedt på at spendere nogle penge. Men kan kan altid gå en lille tur til det store supermarked (mod heraklion by) og købe frugt vand mm og solcreme til halv pris i forhold til hotel-nære butikker. Vi havde valgt hotellet til ren afslapning ved vandet. Det var perfekt til dette - man skal unde sig at vælge et værelse i en bungalow idet de har en separat pool - altid plads - dejlig placering og et stenkast fra havet. Vi fik desuden behandlinger i spa'en massage og pedicure - til DK priser - kvaliteten ok. Såvidt jeg kunne læse af min guide - ligger hotellet tæt på div seværdigheder - men så skal man enten leje bil eller køre taxa. Vi var ikke rundt. Busser er også billige - billetter skal købes før man står på. Rent praktisk ligger hotellet relativt tæt på Heraklion lufthavn - og det tager 15-20 min at komme til og fra hotellet m bil. Vil gerne tilbage igen - måske nok på et tidspunkt hvor det ikke er nær så varmt - var afsted slut juli start august. Men ved bungalow poolen var der hele tiden brise fra havet - fantastisk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2010 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

First Class Hotel in every way.

Posted Jun 15, 2010
The hotel was excellent. I've stayed at a number of 5 star beach-fronted hotels before, but this was the first one to fully live up to the 5 star label. Quality and attention to detail was clearly evident in every way. If you're looking for somewhere to relax and unwind then you wouldn't go wrong here. The only downside would be the local area. It's not bad as such, but does lack any character and has a distinctly low-end touristy feel to it. Crete has some exceptionally picturesque seaside towns, and this certainly wasn't one of them. That said, if you have a car then its not hard to find your way.