Ratings based on 703 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for the price and location.

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Location
I was at the hotel for the Dark Mofo festival. Everthing was within walking distance. Really nice staff who didnt even charge us for a lost key. Nothing fancy but for the price its pretty great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW

Excellent location

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Very Happy and would Defibetely stay here again .Staff were friendly & helpful. Room was good value for money .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Great hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2015
This hotel was excellent. The rooms are modern and comfortable. The location is fantastic. I just walked everywhere from there. Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

great hotel, great price

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Stay the way it is and customers will be returning for sure.
Location: Everything is so close and nice walk to the pier, cafes restaurants etc...
perfect location, easy free parking, price amazing for what you get. Room very clean, spacious, and so comfortable. We have always stayed at the grand chancellor, but didn't get a room for the time of travel so looked up the best reviewed hotels. This hotel had 99% rating and i can understand why. Free parking which would usually be around $20 + at other hotels. Breakfast buffet only around $11 pp and so good. Dinner also buffet salad bar with a main $23. Steak was perfect and so tender. Staff were so helpful and so friendly. I really can't fault this hotel would give it a 100% I still can't over how good the price is for what you get, its just walking distance to all facilities of hobart.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best location in Hobart

Posted May 29, 2015
Fantastic location with easy walk to Wharf and Royal Bottanical Gardens. Restaurant fare a bit limited but cooked to perfection. Very friendly, helpful and genuine staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Hidden Gem

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing really
Location: CBD in Hobart. Easy 12 min walk to harbour and markets and night restaurants. or a $7 taxi ride to same .
Looks alittle old outside, but lovely inside. King single room was very big, as was the lovely bathroom. Very clean and comfortable. The mini bar at super market prices was a great surprise. small bottles of wine just $4 (200mls) . $11.80 for a fully cooked breakfast with plenty to choose from. Dinner menu a flat $24.95 including a great steak. Soup and salad was included in that price. Good parking, and only 12 mins easy walk from the harbour and markets. Staff were very good. I gather their customers are often repeat visitors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ireland

Great value in Hobart

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: breakfast was adequate but a bit limited but fair enough for the price.
Having read many previous reviews about the Fountainside, our expectations were not high so what we actually experienced came as a pleasant surprise. Why? Well - the free parking was not a problem, even on a Friday evening. Our huge top floor room was easily accessed by a fast and not unreliable lift. The huge bed was very comfortable and our TV reception and channel options were the best we'd had in three weeks in rural Victoria and Tasmania. The bathroom-wet room facilities were excellent - right down to the heated seat and electric bidet! Best of all was the much reported well stocked and really cheap minibar. Add to all this an unexpectedly good three course dinner for under 25 dollars (for residents) - again with a decent selection of beers and wines at almost off licence prices. What could you possibly complain about?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW Australia

Close to attractions

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Staff and cleaniness
Cons: Parking. Noise proofing of rooms.
Location: Hotel is only 15 minute walk to most attractions including Salamanca markets.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean. The traffic was very very noisy as the hotel is on a major roundabout. Hotel lift was also noisy and was operated early in the morning by staff. Room did not have sound proofing between them so television and shower could be heard, as well people talking in their room. Parking was a nightmare, we found it hard to get in and out of the tight spaces and to sometimes find a parking space. Mini bar prices were very reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location close to CBD

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Excellent location close to everything shop and sight seeing
Cons: have a more variety of Breakfast buffet
Location: Great Location close to CBD, Aquatic Centre, Hobart Cenotaph, Botanical Gardens, Hobart Harbour, St David's Cathedral, Salamanca market, Tasmanian Mus
Great location good size room, free Wi-Fi and some foxtel channels, fantastic views from the rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value in good location

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Clean, reasonably priced, helpful and friendly staff.
If you are after a basic, clean, reasonably priced with lovely staff this is the place to stay, Easy walking distance to the harbour foreshore. Salamanca Place and therefore restaurants and pubs. Also not too far to the town centre for shopping. We stayed on the 7th floor and there was noise however, just as much as we experienced in most other places in a similar location. We were opposite the lift and although not bad, I would suggest asking for a room away from the lift.