Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southport

pub in middle of nowhere but nice countryside.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: it was quite cheap
Cons: too long a list but it is only a pub after all
Location: stuck in the middle of nowhere though in quite a nice village not too far from the golf at woodhall spa and its restaurants
this is not a pub to be left without a car as taxi service is impossible to find.the pub served real ale though my first pint tasted of soap.i only ate breakfast which was ok though more than one slice of toast would have been nice.service wasn't exactly speedy.the telly didn't work and when I asked the staff how to fix it I was told to change the source but to no avail.i eventually gave up till morning when I discovered the aerial wasn't plugged in and without taking the telly off the wall couldn't plug it in.got the impression that it had been unplugged deliberately as the noise from the telly would have been heard in all the other rooms judging by the lack of soundproofing between walls.i could hear every word of next doors conversation. at this stage unresolved as trying for last 24 hours to contact the pub but no answer but appear to have been charged by expedia and the pub for my stay.hopefully I can resolve this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from market rasen

Near to Woodhall spa

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Comfortable and clean with pleasant staff. Near to where we were going for 40s weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by chris4761 from london

bit out of the way

Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for a couple of nights before the airshow at Waddington, the pub/hotel is a bit out of the way and a car is necessary. Rooms are at the only pub in the village. Rooms were nice and comfortable. Good selection of food in the restaurant. Nice area for walks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by travelling from A Scottish

Cranwell stay

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Good staff, clean, large room with big tv and great shower on suit. Excellent breakfast. Just stayed one night but would use again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Horrible Customer services

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was not happy with the customer service, would not book again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Viv & Brian from Shropshire.

Pleasant hotel, close to Lincoln.

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: The hotel was in a lovely rural village. The real bonus was that excellent food was served during the evening. The breakfast was also excellent.
Cons: The hotel does not open till 5-30, when we were expecting to check in at 3 0'clock. This timing needs to be amended.
Location: Lovely village location with the Kinema in the woods close by at Woodhall Spa. This is definitely worth a visit.
Made very welcome and found our room to be clean and pleasant. Tea and coffee making facilities were also provided in the room, which we made use of.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ian u from south shields

quiet area

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
enjoyed the stay. quiet little village, clean and relaxing
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leeze from Harlow, Essex

Not too far from Lincoln, so nicely placed

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, especially one young lady who sorted out the cobwebs - really wish I could remember her name.
Cons: General maintenance of rooms. Install a more effective extractor fan in the kitchen rather than leave the door open.
Location: Fairly close to Lincoln with all that the lovely city has to offer.
As per previous reviews, the rooms are a bit tired. Cobwebs, albeit very light ones, in the bathroom. Pointed out to staff who cleaned immediately, even offering a drink to compensate-nice touch, however, would have been nice if it had been cleaned thoroughly in the 1st place. Some general maintenance is required - loose toilet seat, really tatty paintwork. It really would not take much to make the whole experience so much better. Very young staff, but they managed well. Food was OK. The stairs to the rooms go past the kitchen, not usually a problem as long as the door is closed. The kitchen smells were not pleasant every time you went to/from the room. Overall an OK stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Major Woodruff from Lichfield

timeless hotel miles from anywhere

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
very very relaxing place the restaurant was passable as was breakfast could not actually complain but ....... arrived an hour early room not ready was allowed to put bags in room then went off to meet with friends cane back room still not been done dirty cups half drank wine glass dirty linen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Annie from Worcestershire

Attractive old fashioned pub hotel.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Location and friendliness of staff. Food and wine was very good and not expensive.
Cons: The smells from kitchen need redirecting away from the rooms
Location: We were visiting Lincoln cathedral and castle, national trust sites were within easy driving distance too and Skegness if you wanted the seaside.
Excellent food,helpful staff not your typical pub food although that was available too. Nicely presented . The rooms were pleasant and very clean and tidy with comfortable beds. Having read previous reviews were a bit apprehensive as lots were not good. For the price it was well worth the money,breakfast was really good and the staff were friendly and happy. Others complained about the young inexperienced staff but all the staff knew there jobs and did them well. Don't go if you are expecting 5 star hotel service because it isn't , we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in quiet ,peaceful surroundings. Our only negative comment is that the kitchen is located at the bottom of the stairs leading to the rooms and you have the heat and smells of the kitchen rising. That could easily be improved by shutting the door into the kitchen which incidentally was spotless every time we passed the door. Would recommend.