Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wirral

Beautiful building and location but needs some TLC

Posted Apr 15, 2015
The hotel is a beautiful old building in a beautiful location but the inside doesn't do justice to the outside. The hotel is in need of refurbishment (or even just a bit of TLC!). The public areas were not too bad but our room was very tired and basic for the price paid. We returned to the hotel late at night having been at a Wedding all day to find that the bathroom window had been left open and all the radiators were turned off! Not exactly what you want on a cold and damp April night. Oh and the advertised free Wifi didn't seem to exist. When we checked out we weren't asked how our stay had been as you normally are or we would have told the hotel all the above directly. Perhaps they don't like to ask because they are worried what the response may be?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Cheshire

picturesque hotel and surroundings

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: the view's
Cons: We had no complaints.
Location: Near to llangolen town centre and railway also the aqueduct. Hire a barge and travel the canals for the day. Good walks to be had and trails to explor
Lovely staff, characteristic furnishings keeping with period of hotel, cooked breakfast was very tasty, light evening meal that we chose was ample.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Merseyside

beautiful hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: The location of the hotel is so peaceful
Cons: For me everything was perfect
Location: The location is perfect for country walks and local attractions, castles and museums.
Beautiful hotel in lovely location. Magnificent views from hotel. Food was delicious and presented well. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I will most definitely stay again. A hidden gem, well with a visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Pleasant hotel close to Llangollen

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Impressive building with lots of old wood panelling in public areas. Room was very comfortable. Food was good. Set dinner menu was good value and well prepared. Restaurant staff were friendly, efficient and knew their wine list.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southport.

Comfortable hotel in attractive surroundings.

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: The general ambience plus convenience for nearby walks along the Llangollen canal.
Cons: With the weather being extremely cold, the lounge bar area could have been a little warmer.
Location: As mentioned above,very convenient for Llangollen town and the North Wales area.
Enjoyable stay, giving access to wonderful scenery in the Llangollen area and nearby Shropshire
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sarahfrom Wolverhampton

Birthday treat hubby

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
I booked the Hotel as a Birthday present for my husband along with a Rail journey on the real ale train. The Hotel was superb. The breakfast was wonderful. The room had a beautiful and the bed was so comfy. Thanks for a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ryan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christinefrom Mansfield

Relaxing

Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a lovely relaxing time beautiful area for walks and sites and to get away from the Christmas chaos
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Margaretfrom Liverpool

Niice quiet place

Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice location. Nice hotel if you want a quiet break walking or canoeing. Food was very good, eat in the lounge its half the price of the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Doc 180 (trip advisor)from South Wales

What a place to Stay

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is the 3rd year, I have stayed there, great old Hotel, such great taste as its so old, yes could do with a lick of paint, room very clean, Evening meal was to a very high standard . But the Hotel has views to die for. the canal was very nice and enjoyable. The whole surrounding quite exceptional. will go again for sure.