Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brighton

a blessing for dog owners who like good food!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Location: On canal side in beautiful grounds, we stayed there for a night prior to our canal boat trip
Made very welcome with a young dog and a puppy! Staff were warm friendly and helpful. Food was great. Traditional decor not exactly to my taste but if the food and wine was good and they didn't mind my dogs that was fine with me!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Location: The Aquaduct was cool, Chainlink Bridge hotel, Horseshoe Falls
A little out of the way but a beautiful place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Basic but nice lovely setting

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Location and settings. Also friendly staff
Cons: The whole interior needs a face lift, new windows. Wouldn't stop me going again.
Location: Great location. Wonderful scenery in North Wales. Aquaduct, easy to get to different places.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms very basic. The food was very good. The location was great. Would go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: First instinct, looked clean and tidy
Cons: More pride in the overall look and attention to detail
Location: brilliant
Spoke to a member of staff prior to my booking confirmation and he was very helpfull. When we arrived the room looked very nice but on looking closer it obviously had not been checked after cleaning. The valance was very untidy. A bottle of shampoo was found resting on the valance underneath the bed. To our gain we also found a pound on the floor. There was no shampoo in the bathroom (but we had the one from under the bed). Restaurant staff very nice at our evening meal but when we arrived for breakfast there was no staff to be seen.We found ourselves a table as someone was sat at the one reserved for our room. We assumed we helped ourselves. Eventually the waitiress came through with toast and just plonked it on the table. No "good morning would you like tea or coffee" just "here's your toast". We had to find someone to request tea and coffee. Asked for decaff coffee.Was told that they had none!!!!!. Walking down to breakfast noticed the window on the stairs was open. Looked untidy. Loads of leaves and debris outside and plenty of cob web hanging from the window. On the plus side, there was plenty of choice for breakfast but would not rush back there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mazzer from Wigan

Nice pleasant stay

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed the one night to spend a little time in the area, we found the hotel quiet and very welcoming. We stayed in one of the superior rooms and was surprised by the standard. Will definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by a.humbles from bourne

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice stay, bathroom a little tired, very old tv with basic channels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Well travelled from Cwmbran

Great Location

Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Because the hotel is just off from the main road, it maintains its country feel. Also at the bottom of the grounds is a little gate that gains you access to the Llangollen Canal for a most pleasant walk before dinner. We dined in the lounge bar and food was excellent and piping hot. Well worth a return visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Bryn Howel

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Timetableman from Midlands

Good value if booked at a discount

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel has been a very grand establishment in its time, but I think is probably struggling a little to stay afloat. .So, the breakfast is EXCELLENT. The room we had was adequate for our needs as we were not in the hotel for prolonged periods. The room was clean. The bathroom was adequate if a little tired. The bed was very spacious (2 singles zipped together) and comfortable. There is a restaurant - the food served was excellent if a little pricey. The maid service was a little inconsistent, with replacement towels one morning and not the next - only one supply of shower gel also meant that one should not rely on the hotel for washing materials.There are some comments which indicate a shortage of staff. We can understand why. We did stand at the lounge bar for a while, hoping to get a bar meal, but no-one arrived to serve us - no bell that we could discern - some guests did have drinks and thus one has to assume an attempt to run on a minimum of staff. The lobby is very pleasant and one can sit and read a newspaper. It was whilst doing this that we did observe that it was possible to try to check-out for instance, and no-one arrives for a while. The wi-fi does exist and we observed its use in the hotel lobby - there was no signal at all in our room - hopefully a guest can use their own phone as a tethering point as we were able (unlimited downloads )