Ratings based on 307 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

The neighborhood I needed

Posted Jul 6, 2014
The hotel staff were extremely polite and helpful. I needed to stay in this area and the Wales worked out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Not what I expected

Posted Jul 5, 2014
I expected more for what I paid. The overall comfort was nice and the staff was friendly. However this is the first time I have stayed in a hotel room and I was looking at a wall or in someone else's room, I had to keep my curtains closed for 3 days and the room itself was very small. And when it rains (which it did) you could not watch tv because the satellite dish went out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The trip I met my new granddaughter in Manhattan.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: 2nd time I have stayed at the Wales Hotel. I will continue to stay there when I come back to Manhattan to visit my son's family. 2-3 times per year.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Central Park, Metropolitan Museum, many nice restaurants.
My adult daughter and I came to NYC to meet her new niece and my newest granddaughter. The Wales Hotel is 10 blocks away from her parents home just WEST on 84th & Lexington. Handy place to stay on Madison Avenue.
1 out of 5
by Ben from Montreal

Lost ALL it's charm and became a pricy road inn

Posted Jun 15, 2014
The charm, service, and imponent look of the rooms was changed by new management by disposing off the well preserved and pristine period furniture the rooms had and substituting it for very uncomfortable and already tired convenience get me by's. All services were dropped and other than check in , free coffe for the road is offered in the morning. A disappointing and unnecessary experience in NY only comparable to a highway motel. The furniture was collapsed barely hanging by duct tape repairs. The housekeeping staff does miracles exchanging furnishings between rooms but run out of options as the hotel fully books. The front desk staff lives in a perpetual overflow of complaints as the property quickly begins to lack luster and the minimal services create a disconnect from the hospitality experience. The name of the hotel was removed from the door and it is impossible to recognize unless you know it previously or ask neighbours. Disproportionate fees have been added for anything raging from hefty pet fees and expensive business lounge and computer use.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Wales good place for museum focus - NYC trip

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: The location was good.
Location: The Metropolitan Museum of Art and Central Park with The Museum of Natural History on the other side of Central Park.
Hotel Wales is located in an older building which allows it to have a lot of character and charm. The roof top view was fun and the second floor amenities were good. We had a suite with a king size bed and a fold out sofa. This worked well for our needs. While the suite was small it was comfortable. The window air conditioner seemed to struggle to keep the room cool enough. Mid way through our visit the air conditioner was replaced and the new one seemed to work much better. We were able to walk to the Metropolitan Museum of Art. We walked from the museum of Natural History back to the hotel via central park paths. If future visits to NYC are with a focus on museums I would definitely stay at Hotel Wales again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jean from Alexandria, VA

location is great and a nice, small hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: small, with very responsive staff.
Cons: Heating/cooling in bathroom - there is neither, and having stayed in the same room in the winter, it is almost impossible to get a bath in there.
Location: location is convenient to shopping and family and not far from LaGuardia.
Our only complaints are that the reading lamps have small wattage bulbs and it is hard to read in bed, and our bathroom is neither heated or cooled. We have stayed in the same room previously and in the winter it is freezing in the bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shelly from Naperville, IL

very nice boutique hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2014
I can't say one bad thing about this hotel! What a pleasant change from the chain hotels! I had to travel to NYC on business and I booked this hotel via Expedia for a GREAT price. I got a king suite for $331 a night (note the Courtyard Marriott was $20 more per night)-the room was larger than my apartment when I lived in NYC years ago! About 500+ sq. ft. The bed was super comfortable. Room very clean and great bathroom. I had a separate living area. The staff were very kind and accommodating. Fresh coffee and tea all day. No breakfast, but hey, you are in NYC and you don't have to walk more than a block to find tons of restaurants (indeed, there are a few bakeries just north of the hotel on Madison Ave between 95-96th streets). I ate at the Island next door one evening for dinner-very good! Did I also mention that they have a GORGEOUS roof top deck? A rarity in the city I would absolutely stay here again. The only complaint, and really it's not the hotels fault, was that my room faced the street and I was on the 3rd floor, so I had to put up with street noise. But having lived there previously, I really wasn't surprised. I guess you could ask for a higher floor or one not facing the street. You are in NYC, so there are certain evils you have to tolerate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by judith from white plains ny

reunion weekdend

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: location, rooftop.
Location: museums, great restaurants (paris Bistro) 92 st Y.
we spent a night between festivities for our HS reunion. we met another set of people doing the same. smart, smart hotel, lovely bathrooms and very comfy beds!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington, dc

Great upper east side location

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: The staff was lovely and very attentive.
Cons: Communication that the cheaper room was facing brick walls and had no natural light.
Location: Sarabeth's for breakfast right in the hotel. Lots of great shopping and Central Park one block away
My initial room was a match box with no natural light, but squeaky clean. I changed to a suite with a view of Cental Park's lake. The bed was wonderful, the view fantastic. The room was dated but very clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No advertised "renovated rooms" apparent

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: The location and the staff.
Cons: See above in first answer.
Location: French restaurants nearby are very good, esp. Pascalou. Paola's has crammed its clientele into small tables and the noise is deafening. Never again.
The staff changed my room after I spent the night on a mattress whose springs were broken. They were always attentive. The rooms--first and second--were old, in need of the renovation that is promised on the web site. The "European Plan" breakfast is no longer Continental but only coffee available 24 hours: disappointing.