Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Matty from Miami FL

Very good location and swanky neighborhood.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: I aleady stated it above.
Cons: The upkeep or maintenance
Location: Very good upscale neighborhood with excellent restaurants and shops.
The best trait for me was the location, close to my school, Convent of the Sacred Hear, 1 East 91 St. where I celebrated the 60th. Anniversary of my High School graduation. The stay was pleasant but I think the hotel needs a little more tender care and renovation, the paint was very poorly applied. It is a beautiful hotel, built in 1904 but the maintenance has to improve. Otherwise I was very pleased that I could order breakfast in bed and the porter service that brought my luggage to my room. This is important to me. I'm 77 and cannot haul my luggage around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming warm and great location

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Welcoming and intimate Sarabeths my fav breakfast with muffins and jams that are superb Had brunch there
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Location, Horrible Mattress - Couldn't Sleep

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Location and lounge/lobby area. Enjoyed the complimentary coffee and tea.
Cons: temperature and mattresses
Location: Museums, great restaurants, central park
My mattress was broken, the room was overheated and the pipes were making noise all night. I had a really unsatisfactory stay because I was not able to sleep at all. I did enjoy the hotel lounge and location but would not recommend this hotel. Perhaps the other rooms are in better condition than my room was.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, MA

Comfortable, low-key hotel, located near museums

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Cons: Heating was difficult to regulate and we had to open our windows during the winter in order not to be too hot.
Location: Museums: Metropolitan, Guggenheim, National Acad. Museum Retaurants: Sarabeth's, Yura on Madison for breakfast Subway stops nearby on Lexington
We found the hotel staff friendly but not intrusive and the room generally comfortable except that it was too hot during our winter visit. The decor is tasteful and not overdone in this pre-war building. The proximity to New York's major museums is a great advantage and the restaurants nearby, Sarabeth's, Yura on Madison, make breakfast convenient and delicious. For out-of-towners, this is a very safe neighborhood with subway stops at Lexington and 86th or 96th within easy walking distance. In the warmer months, proximity to Central Park is another plus! Would definitely recommend this hotel if you're looking for a calm, pleasant stay in New York.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donald from San Diego

Upper East Side Gem

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: Evrything
Location: Excellent location near the Park and Museums, near to Subway and easy access to all New York has to offer.
We loved the Wales. The rooms are large with beautiful views and the lobby and public areas inviting and comfortable. Paola's next door is AESOME!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Wilmington, NC

enjoyed the proximity to park and museums

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The king suite adequately suited our family of five - we didn't stay in the room much, but were very comfortable when we were there. The 2nd floor common area (with round the clock hot beverages) provided an early morning place to read the paper while others in the room were still sleeping. We would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small and cozy - wonderful staff -

Posted Dec 13, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small but nice and affordable

Posted Dec 11, 2013
It's a botique hotel so the room was small and the building seemed old (still had an AC unit in the window) and the steam heater was VERY loud the entire night. However, the staff was friendly, it was a fair and affordable price, and it's a great location. We went to dinner at the attached restaurant and the service was a bit slow because they were understaffed but the food was ok and prices were reasonable. I will probably stay somewhere else next time but I would not mind staying there again and my experience was overall very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jeannene from San Francisco

Fine Hotel in a Great Neighborhood

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
You have to know that the Wales was once a rundown residence hotel. It's now a cozy, discreet boutique hotel but bears traces of its history in very small rooms (many of them facing the interior lightwell) and old-fashioned heating and cooling. That said, wi-fi is free and staff is nice and location can't be beat.