Ratings based on 314 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester NY

nice hotel on upper east side

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Location, comfort and hotel staff
Location: Near Central Park and Museum Mile, near Serafinas restaurant which is great little italian and wood fired pizza and near Lauderee, delicious macaroons
The staff was very accommodating. They went out of their way to give us vouchers for breakfast at Sarabeths, the doorman walked outside and down the street some with us to give us directions to the subway and other information. They took extra time to give us information and directions. Room was adequate, bathroom was nice, AC was good. Location was good if you want to be on the upper east side. When we checked in they had water in the lobby with orange slices in it which was a nice touch, but they didnt have it the other days. Would definately stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Gorgeous Hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The room was very clean, and they offered complementary coffee and tea in a great reading room.
Location: The location is in a very good area and there are a lot of things to do near by.
The hotel was absolutely gorgeous, and while my room was a little small it was very comfortable. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others. There are lovely shops right across the street and next door, along with an amazing restaurant affiliated with the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

quiet and authentic

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Location. Style. Clean.
Cons: Would have liked if more coffee and tea was available in the late morning but not a big deal. Easy to pickup nearby.
Location: Quiet, upscale neighborhood. Near many museums and Central Park.
This was my first visit to NYC and I traveled with my 14 year old son. Size of room was not that important to me because we would just be resting there. Great location if you are interested in the museums or Central Park. Getting downtown was easy via cab or subway and was nice, quiet escape from busy downtown area when you are ready to relax. Liked the historic, authentic feel. Nice lounge area with coffee and tea. Bathroom was very clean and modern.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, ON

Great hotel in a calmer area of Manhattan.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Location: A short 5 minute walk to Central Park, 15 minutes to the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Subway is a 10 minute walk to 96th and Lexington.
The Upper East Side is away from the craziness of Times Square but close enough to the subway that you can go anywhere you need to. The room was small but functional. Extremely well kept with a super-comfortable bed. This small hotel will please if you aren't looking for the crowded Times Square area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great location and Staff

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: It was clean, really nice shower and comfortable bed
Cons: The window curtain where the a/c is needed to be shorter so it wouldn't block the air.
Location: It is close enough to walk to Central Park, train Station and stores in 5th ave.
Like that it was close to Central Park, 5th ave, Metro Station, enjoyed a hot cup of coffee on the rooftop terrace, the bed was super comfortable .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

Our Wedding - 7/18

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: I loved the walk-in shower with the glass wall!
Cons: The carpet could stand to be updated, but it is not worn out or stained. It is well kept, just a bit dated.
Location: It is on the upper east side of Manhattan, the residential area. Great restaurants, quaint bookstores, close to museum row and Central Park.
We were received with smiling, friendly faces and a genuine eagerness to please.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

The neighborhood I needed

Posted Jul 6, 2014
The hotel staff were extremely polite and helpful. I needed to stay in this area and the Wales worked out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Not what I expected

Posted Jul 5, 2014
I expected more for what I paid. The overall comfort was nice and the staff was friendly. However this is the first time I have stayed in a hotel room and I was looking at a wall or in someone else's room, I had to keep my curtains closed for 3 days and the room itself was very small. And when it rains (which it did) you could not watch tv because the satellite dish went out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The trip I met my new granddaughter in Manhattan.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: 2nd time I have stayed at the Wales Hotel. I will continue to stay there when I come back to Manhattan to visit my son's family. 2-3 times per year.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Central Park, Metropolitan Museum, many nice restaurants.
My adult daughter and I came to NYC to meet her new niece and my newest granddaughter. The Wales Hotel is 10 blocks away from her parents home just WEST on 84th & Lexington. Handy place to stay on Madison Avenue.
1 out of 5
by Ben from Montreal

Lost ALL it's charm and became a pricy road inn

Posted Jun 15, 2014
The charm, service, and imponent look of the rooms was changed by new management by disposing off the well preserved and pristine period furniture the rooms had and substituting it for very uncomfortable and already tired convenience get me by's. All services were dropped and other than check in , free coffe for the road is offered in the morning. A disappointing and unnecessary experience in NY only comparable to a highway motel. The furniture was collapsed barely hanging by duct tape repairs. The housekeeping staff does miracles exchanging furnishings between rooms but run out of options as the hotel fully books. The front desk staff lives in a perpetual overflow of complaints as the property quickly begins to lack luster and the minimal services create a disconnect from the hospitality experience. The name of the hotel was removed from the door and it is impossible to recognize unless you know it previously or ask neighbours. Disproportionate fees have been added for anything raging from hefty pet fees and expensive business lounge and computer use.