Ratings based on 407 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cape Cod

Great location. Responsive and friendly staff.

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: location room staff
Cons: quieter heating system
Location: Guggenheim, Met, Whitney, Jewish museum, Cooper-Hewitt
Our room was very good - with the one exception that the heating pipes clanged a lot. But all-in-all it is a wonderful hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

European style with limited comfort

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Decor, style, intimacy, proximity to great museums, shopping and restaurants in a VERY quiet neighborhood of NYC. Pleasant helpful and informed staff.
Cons: Get rid of the TINY rooms, or reduce the price of them drastically, or inform guests of their likely assignment.
Location: Near Cooper Hewitt, Guggenheim, Metropolitan, Neue Galerie, art galleries, shops, wide range of restaurants, Central Park, etc.
We have stayed at The Wales many many times before with pleasure. This time, the room was beneath our expectations, simply because it was among the less expensive editions of their keep. The room was appointed as all Wales rooms have been with crisp sheets, good appointments in the bath, clean as a whistle, etc. But the room was only large enough for a pair of hamsters carrying limited luggage - or none. There was no place to store the luggage, no bureau to unpack our clothes, etc. The closet was so small hangers could not fit in straight on; the handles for the closet were removed, since they would catch on the incumbent's clothing, since the corridor of space around the (double - not queen-sized) bed was so cramped. There was room for only one chair, and sitting in it would mean one's companion could not get to the other side of the (tiny) room. The bed was small for a couple - short as well as narrow, and long overdue for replacement. The box springs bounced with a noise when one moved a tiny bit. And the edges of the mattress collapsed when one got in and out of bed. Our stay was in January, and the pipes delivering heat to the radiators banged annoyingly when the heat came on - since there was no thermostat to regulate the delivery of the massive amounts that needlessly were delivered to the room. We either sweltered or chilled all night. Needless to say, we did not have a good night's sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom midwesterner

Nice place to stay.

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: location, restaurant connected was delightful, coffee room was comfy, room was always cleaned well.
Cons: room size was way too small for a couple for a week.
Location: walk, walk, walk...That's what we did all week. Very close to running in Central Park, short walk to subway
We enjoyed our stay but the one drawback was the size of our room. We had a double bed and no room for moving around at all. it would have been fine for one person but for a couple all week it was very cramped. Not a lot of room to store clothing etc and living out of suitcase wouldn't work because there was not room for the suitcase! Other than that it was just fine!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Athens, Greece

Nice hotel, very close to the museum mile in NYC

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Nice hotel, very close to the museum mile and Central Park in NYC. It is relatively near to a metro station, but the green line was operating below par at the time of our visit (29/12/14 to 2/1/15). We occupied a superior double bedroom, which was cosy, spacious and clean; there was no mini-fridge though. Very pleasant and helpful staff. This hotel is not downtown, but it was cheaper than others and overall I believe it was worth staying there; after all, wherever you stay in NYC, you will definitely need to use public transport in order to go around.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in great Carnegie Hill neighborhood

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Neighborhood, proximity to Mt. Sinai and lots of good restaurants nearby.
Cons: Temperature control in rooms!
The room was fine. Small but and nicely appointed, and the hotel is in a great neighborhood with many fine small restaurants near by. But the room was broiling hot - uncomfortably so and unable to adjust the heat on the radiator in any way. It's an older bbuilding so many be variations in rooms. Had a horrible night's sleep. Although prior visit was pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We liked it!

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: quaintness
Cons: some rooms seem to be out of order or under construction? especially on third floor near 322
Location: it is upper east side close to Guggenheim central park and museum natural history, but you will need to trek a bit if going to mid or downtown. We too
It is an olde world hotel with small elevators and baths. It is in a safe area with bodegas on both sides-great for families. No amenities to speak of really but most people don't visit NYC for that. Try to get a room above third floor or bring ear plugs. The roof top is private and great to get away from hustle and bustle of NYC. Museums walking distance and a block off the park. This hotel is not for the spoiled but for the nostalgic. Staircase reminds of the titanic. The staff was friendly and welcoming, honestly not what I expected in NYC. We were there with 3 kids after Xmas to Dec30 and felt safe, saw no protestors, however didn't see cops as much as with Guiliani. We were pleasantly surprised. Enjoy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Cons: The Hotel needs to seal the windows to avoid the noise from the street.
Location: The location is very good everything is close by.
I was in this hotel with my family and everything was wonderful. My only concern was the street noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Très bon hôtel

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Personnel très sympathique à l'écoute et avec de bons conseils. Chambre très propre avec quelques services offerts appréciables (chaînes câblées, thé café a volonté...)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Cons: Carpeting. I'm always in room #701, 901 or one of the small corner rooms.
Location: I come from Florida go to Mt. Sinai Hospital for treatment so do little else except meals at Sara Beth's. It's very convenient.
Love this boutique hotel for it's friendliness and location. Everyone is so helpful, pleasant and kind.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff, small room with wall view

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Really lovely staff and location but I must say the room was tiny with a depressing view of a wall. I did get the room at a discount on an expedia special but was disappointed to look out onto brick and darkness. While small, both the room and bathroom were comfortable and I much preferred them to the Hilton Midtown that I stayed in earlier in the week. The hotel is in a great location that has plenty going on with museums close by and great shopping away from the hustle and bustle. I will most certainly stay again but will be sure to request a room that at least has a very of the exterior.