Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Art from Chicago, IL

Right in the City.

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: The style... It has a principle of trying to give you what you want but makes you stretch what you are expecting. It's a hostel afterall.
Cons: Put some ceilings on the rooms and soundproof them.
Location: Right around the corner from Little Italy and Chinatown. Lots of bars and restaurants.
Rooms are small but if all you need is a place for your stuff then this is what you need. The place is very clean. Feels like a high school or college/boarding house. The walls are very thin, you hear everything and everyone around you. No real sense of privacy. Not really a place for obese people.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for what it was

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: the service and atmosphere
The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The bathrooms and shower areas were well kept and very clean. The overall atmosphere was excellent. and the location was fantastic... The rooms were more like cubicles four walls raised and covered atop by garden lattices. The bed was tiny and would have to be to fit in such a small space. You could literally hold your arms open and touch each wall. But it was a place to sleep for the night and served my purpose well. I recommend it if you do not want to spend any time in your room but only use it as a place to sleep while you venture out into exciting New York
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christian from Mexico City

Everything as expected, no surprises.

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: Design, mood, comfort, all interesting places within a few blocks or Subway stations
Cons: Room cleanning.
Location: Lots of bars on most every corner, grocery shop, broadway street and subway stations.
I read a lot of reviews and I was prepared for worse. People should notice that this is a Hostel not an Hotel, I had a lot of fun in the lobby sharing experiences with people from different countries, you can have drinks or bring your own beer and enjoy making new friends. I slep in the pepper bunk cabin and this room is really crazy, you don't know what people you will know. If you are going to stay at this hostel, be sure to be polite and do NOT slam doors, this is rude and disrespectful to the other guests. Be aware that you have to pay a $50 deposit with Credit Card only on your check-in just in case you break something. So far this was a good experience and I will stay here on my next visit to New York.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from London

Very noisy, but very cheap.

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: clean and tidy, most hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Noise cancelling, showers, the type of people they let to stay there.
Location: Good location, even thought the area is not the best. Just in front there is a homeless shelter. Good public transport links. Some nice places to eat.
The cabin I stayed is about 180cm long and about 120cm wide and 2 meters high. You have very small space and the cabins have no ceiling or roof, only some wooden cover like a garden fence that lets all the noise in. I was told to keep it quiet when checked in. Everybody else was very loud, calling on the phone and talking on the loudspeaker 2am, you can hear the people snoring from the other side of the building, and your next door doing whatever. The place was surprisingly clean and tidy, there were problems with the showers: you either had steaming hot water or ice cold water. You could not really adjust the temperature. Its not a great place but for such a low price its worth it especially if you dont mind the noise and the weird people around.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Hotel staff, Christopher, is very helpful. He helped me to change my room when he realised that the door lock is not working well. He also helped me to book the airport shutter. The stay at the Bowery House is OK in general. Location is good. Near SOHO, Italy and Chinatown. Subway stations are also within walking distance. Heater is sometimes too warm, cabnin room is small and room is without ceiling, thus not sound proof. But overall is still acceptable for me. For me the negatives are the flight of stairs to climb and dark furnishings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M. from New Orleans

Great location for great price

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Do your research before booking this place. Make sure shared bathrooms and the hostel culture are for you. If so, this place is great. We honeymooned here (stayed in the Prince Room for privacy and a bed we could share). It allowed us to see New York on a tight budget. Don't stay here if you're expecting a hotel--stay here for the friendly people and great location. Only thing that could be improved is the wifi signal in the Prince Room (spotty at best), but very fast wifi in the common room. We had a great experience and can't wait to visit the city again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by londoner from f

Good things come in small packages

Posted Jan 22, 2014
The Bowery house was how I imagined it to be after reading several reviews. The cabins are tiny but you in New York so your not there to spend time in your room! The hotel staff were so friendly and extremely helpful, especially Christopher. Want to stay again in the summer so I can take advantage of the roof garden. Check out the Bowery diner opposite too :))
3 out of 5
by Addy from East Amherst

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: Cozy
Cons: The "cabins" have no real ceilings and the RBar below is audible until at least last call (4am), so don't expect to get enough sleep.
Location: RBar right below. I have heard good things from friends who have played there. Right near LES and it's good food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by pravin from aus

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Extremely small room. Can hear everything around you. Very basic. I was just there to sleep at night etc and store luggage. In nyc why would you want to be inside?! The hotel staff especially oscar was amazing with his help!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by B Han from Potsdam, NY

Don't stay if you want to sleep

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
First, the good thing - the location is great and it was clean. Now everything else: it's a far stretch to call this a hotel and it's even difficult to call it a hostel (I've stayed in YMCAs in Harlem and Greenpoint). This is more like a chicken coop decorated with fancy lightings and shower heads - not worth the money. This is one large space partitioned with very thin divider walls that don't even go all the way to the ceiling - I could hear a guy's coughing fit as if he was right next to me. It was IMPOSSIBLE TO SLEEP - the complimentary ear plugs didn't help at all with the low frequency thumping music from downstairs that lasted until 4AM. You can literally hear everybody's snoring, scratching and talking. I'm talking about a lot of people in the room not 10 or 20. I will NEVER STAY here again. Also their customer service is horrible. They charged a wrong credit card and I called several times to rectify the situation that ended up in answering machine every single time. I left a message via their website - ZERO response so far. The bottom line is, don't stay there if you want any sleep.