Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

To sleep & wash: all you need!

Posted Sep 27, 2014
The bowery house is located lower East close to little Italy, Chinatown etc. Close to subway as well which was important to me. Yes the single cabin is super small but i didn't mind because i was warned, the staff is very nice and I did not intend to stay in my room anyway. My needs and expectation was to have a clean bed to sleep & and a shower to wash. I got it for cheap so i was satisfy. I recommend this hotel for the with ones with minimal personal need and travel light.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable & Unique

Posted Sep 15, 2014
I had certain reservations about staying in a hostel, but The Bowery House turned out to be a terrific choice...particularly when it came to my budget. The cabins are cozy and (surprisingly) quiet. As someone who is a terribly light sleeper, noise is always a concern...but I didn't have any problems sleeping through the night here. The bathroom was exceptionally clean and well maintained. The staff on duty was nothing short of terrific. And the rooftop was the perfect place to wind down after a day traipsing around the city. Overall, I'd have to say that The Bowery House was one of the best places I've ever stayed in NYC and I look forward to a return visit in the near future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap but tiny

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Whilst the hotel is in a pretty good location, the room is very small and had no ceiling, making it pretty loud.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Its location is what make this hotel so attractive

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Close to where I needed to be
Cons: The amount of female private bathrooms.
Very close to all amenities. 25 minutes walk to central park. 10 minutes walk to any other Manhattan touristic places. Advisory: Even though there are separators between the small rooms; snoring, burping... letting personal gas can be heard by other tenants. This is not for the individual who is searching for privacy.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Never Staying here Again

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Jail Cell. Community Showers. A lot like county jail with out the inmates. Small, Dirty , Loud, Cancelled my reservation and made me feel like they were doing me a favor by honoring my reservation that they cancelled. Don't Do It!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gris from San Francisco, CA

Great price for a great place to sleep

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed in one of the traditional private rooms, definitely small, but hey if you are in New York and only need a place to sleep, it was perfect! If you are taller than 5'1 the bed will be too small to extend your legs, but the bed is comfy, room is clean, and community bathroom/showers are clean as well. Noise level can be high during the weekends since the room doesn't have a ceiling but has wooden lattice as the ceiling, so it is technically open. The hotels conveniently located and a short walk to the subway. I stayed Saturday through Tuesday morning and would definitely stay there again in the future.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Gonenc from Istanbul

Worst experience of my life

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The cabins are 2 m square and there is no top wall, you hear 50 other people's cell phones, snorwing at 3 am , pay more and go to a better place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Unique Experience!

Posted Jul 16, 2014
I'm so glad I stayed here! Also glad that I carefully read reviews so that I was perfectly prepared for what to expect: beyond-tiny rooms and smaller-than-standard beds, but updated bathrooms with wonderful showers, exceptional staff, and beautiful rooftop/lobby lounge areas. Very worth it for the price and unique experience. Doubtful you'll find anything else quite like this in the US.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Valia patterson from Nyv

Staff is great

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
All is well
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo NY

Bowery House at Lower East Manhattan

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The only thing I liked about this hotel was checking out
Cons: Replacing the entire building would be an improvement
Location: No comment
My only mistake was to confuse the Bowery house with the Bowery hotel. The Bowery hotel is a great location to stay in but the Bowery house on the other hand is not.This mix up is common and the Bowery house takes precautions to keep unhappy customers money by having a strict no refund policy. The rooms in the Bowery house are 6ftx3ftx7ft room made from cardboard. You can hear every movement made by people in neighboring or adjacent rooms. The hotel lobby and rooms smelled heavily of cheap whiskey. There is only one communal shower and toilet on every floor which causes a lot of lost time due to queuing to use the facilities. Unfortunately I had already booked 3 nights with them so l had to switch hotels without getting a refund. I moved to the Ramada which had the same price, better location, and to a large extent better facilities than the Bowery House. Bowery house is located in an ominous neighborhood and l honestly would never set foot there again.