Ratings based on 376 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pleasant staff and the facilities are good however there were too many people chatting on their mobile phones late at night and into the morning which made it difficult to sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom baltimore

Cheap to live

Posted Dec 9, 2014
The men's bathroom is on the other floor. It's not convenient during the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Great accommodations

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Great for just passing through or there for a few days. Staff was great, rooms were clean and overall just a comfortable place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rome,Italy

The coolest, most hip hostel I.ve ever stayed at.

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Hands down this renovated version of a true Bowery flophouse is the best bargain un NYC. Minuscule rooms are like closets but fabulous shower and roofdeck make this hideout very Burroughs / Kerouac sexy and secret but most cabins only fit one. Perfect hideway for the A list crowd in hiding.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Enkel men ren o fräsch sovkupé!

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Rent o fräscht, trevlig personal. Bra duschar.
Location: Läget är fantastiskt bra. Nära till Houston och gångavstånd till Union Sqr. Restauranger, shopping osv alldeles i närheten.
Reser man själv och endast vill ha central plats att sova på, passar detta hotell utmärkt. Rummen ÄR trånga! Sängen ÄR för kort, och det finns inga innertak på rummen, men det är rent o fräscht och duscharna är fantastiska. Hotellets läge är perfekt och att det skulle vara otrevligt att gå i området kvällstid håller jag inte med om alls. Reser jag till NY själv igen kan jag tänka mig bo där igen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Josephfrom Minneapolis

It's a Hostel

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great neighborhood. Hostel is a bit creepy but its very safe, quite and convenient. I would stay again. Best bang for your buck in Manhattan.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kendra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

If you just need a somewhere to sleep.

Posted Oct 28, 2014
PROS : Affordable. Perfect location, really close to train stations that get you to major landmarks in 30mins or less. Clean room. Helpful and Nice staff members. Decor is cool, its dark hip and trendy. Nice roof garden. Lobby is a good place to chill out. Space under bed for 2 medium suitcases. Warm room. Very Fast wifi speed. Close to high end shopping district. Reasonable fees. Good atmosphere. CONS : Dark corridors especially in daylight. Small rooms. No ceilings on rooms so people can hear your private phone calls or hear you read out credit card information. Sometimes, when trying to sleep, other people can be loud like playing Loud music, slamming doors and people coughing constantly. The wall sockets are too tight for two travel adapters and are loose. Thin bedsheets. Unencrypted WiFi connection. The showers are too busy between 6-8am. Wait until 9 or 10. No elevator. Homeless people right outside entrance and along the street.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Brianfrom Long Island

Ok if you're short and deaf...otherwise...

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
The "cabin" I stayed in was a tiny (think 6.5' x 3') bunk with a lattice-work ceiling that lets in sound from all the adjoining cabins and nearby bathrooms. The courtesy ear plugs should have been a big tip off. I'm 6'2", and could barely fit the length of the room -- my feet were pressed against the wall. I managed to get only a couple hours of troubled sleep thanks to the noise, constant coughing from another guest, flushing toilets, creaky bathroom door hinges, and loud people talking in foreign languages to one another and on cell phones (despite the house rule that cell phones are not allowed in the sleeping area). I was eager to get out of bed once 5 a.m. rolled around...and I am not a morning person! The bathroom floor was soaking wet (bring flip flops!) and shower was cold. Ugh. All of that said...if you know what you're in for, and don't really care if you sleep well (I suggest taking a sleep aid to help), and you're under 6 feet tall, then you might not have such a bad time here. Everything was clean (except for that early morning wet bathroom floor...eww), the staff were friendly (especially the cute guy with the nice smile working the desk the following morning), there's a rooftop with faux grass and good views and plenty of seating, free wireless internet, and the fact that it's a historic location. I also managed to get a cab outside the next morning despite the torrential downpour.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

don't expect much but convenient

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
don't expect much. very convenient though. got to jfk for 8 dollars because of the bowery station. a couple blocks away on bowery/houston is a whole foods. dormy feel. kinda cool though. reminded me of college--had that sharing with others feel. you kinda have to stay quiet when inside for everyone else. you get a burst of noise every now and then but hey.