Ratings based on 224 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Its location is what make this hotel so attractive

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Close to where I needed to be
Cons: The amount of female private bathrooms.
Very close to all amenities. 25 minutes walk to central park. 10 minutes walk to any other Manhattan touristic places. Advisory: Even though there are separators between the small rooms; snoring, burping... letting personal gas can be heard by other tenants. This is not for the individual who is searching for privacy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Unique Experience!

Posted Jul 16, 2014
I'm so glad I stayed here! Also glad that I carefully read reviews so that I was perfectly prepared for what to expect: beyond-tiny rooms and smaller-than-standard beds, but updated bathrooms with wonderful showers, exceptional staff, and beautiful rooftop/lobby lounge areas. Very worth it for the price and unique experience. Doubtful you'll find anything else quite like this in the US.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo NY

Bowery House at Lower East Manhattan

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The only thing I liked about this hotel was checking out
Cons: Replacing the entire building would be an improvement
Location: No comment
My only mistake was to confuse the Bowery house with the Bowery hotel. The Bowery hotel is a great location to stay in but the Bowery house on the other hand is not.This mix up is common and the Bowery house takes precautions to keep unhappy customers money by having a strict no refund policy. The rooms in the Bowery house are 6ftx3ftx7ft room made from cardboard. You can hear every movement made by people in neighboring or adjacent rooms. The hotel lobby and rooms smelled heavily of cheap whiskey. There is only one communal shower and toilet on every floor which causes a lot of lost time due to queuing to use the facilities. Unfortunately I had already booked 3 nights with them so l had to switch hotels without getting a refund. I moved to the Ramada which had the same price, better location, and to a large extent better facilities than the Bowery House. Bowery house is located in an ominous neighborhood and l honestly would never set foot there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Great (but noisy) location

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Staff were very friendly, the condition of the hotel was great and the location was perfect for me. Yes, the rooms were tiny but the issue I had was that most people weren't very considerate of the open concept. There were doors slamming, music playing, etc from other rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Ashland, OR

Steerage on the Titanic

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Location, Decor, Linens, Soaps, Lobby, Rooftop, Security, Staff, Great recommendations for Gimme Coffee, Price
Cons: A shade or drape to pull over the ceiling to keep the light out at night, Maybe staff could pop through to keep it quieter at night.
Location: So Relax in Chinatown- Best foot massage ever! Gimme Coffee, 'Sleep No More', Dumpling Man, TheTaxi stand behind BP has amazing samosas $1 late night
The Bowery House is a lovely hostel in a fantastic location and you gain cool points for staying there. Everything from the stairs leading up to check in to the lobby to the furnishings has elegant simplicity and creates a luxuriously chill vibe. The cabins are exactly that, cabins. Thankfully they have a lattice ceiling to ease the claustrophobia but you will hear EVERYTHING (earplugs are provided) and the hall light may shine in your eyes. If you are over 5'5" prepare to curl up because that's the length of the bed. 4X6 is my best guess on the cabin's dimensions (It looked bigger online) That said, Tuesday through Thursday it was a fantastic place to crash after the whirlwind of NYC activities. The bathrooms are clean, showers hot, and the soaps smell delicious. Friday, your bed might as well be in the middle of the dance floor of the club below and you might hear some crazy monkey sex in another cabin, but hey, it's Friday night, in a hostel, in NYC, go along for the ride!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Miranda from Los Angeles

Disappointing

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have stayed here several times, and am well aware of the small rooms and shared community spaces. I typically enjoy my stay- the location is really convenient, and you can't beat the price for NY hotels. However, this trip I was disappointed by the service at check in. I didn't feel welcome, and was not treated well by the front desk person. There was also a much larger homeless population on the sidewalk out front than what I remember from past trips. Because of the poor customer service, I will likely try other options before staying here again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from Miami

OMG

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
What an experience! I knew I was paying $100 per night for a place in Manhattan, but I at the very least expected a room and a bed. What I got was a small storage sized space with a "twin" bed that was approximate 4'10" long in a room that was 5' long. Needless to say, my 5'10" self could not fit and I spent about 30 minutes trying to manage myself until I gave up and checked out. Was supposed to stay to nights, but wound up eating the cost of the first night and booking a new place through another hotel sight. I hated the entire stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Ann from Boston

Not bad for the money

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was clean and well kept, but rooms were very tiny.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Soho hostel

Posted May 27, 2014
It is as expected...cabins are little storage units that you sleep in, wouldn't be too bad if the other guests weren't so noisy in the morning...they do supply ear plugs, so that is good...very clean. Beds are twins and are kind of short for 6' or taller folks...
2 out of 5
by Jack R

Great staff, awful room

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: Cleaning, a roof, door that locks.
Location: Great location
The staff are helpful, courteous and kind. The room is not really a "room", and it actually lacks a roof. So you can hear just about everything in any other "room". Super expensive for a hostel. And I am not sure they will be in business long as part of the building has been condemned.