Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Unique Experience!

Posted Jul 16, 2014
I'm so glad I stayed here! Also glad that I carefully read reviews so that I was perfectly prepared for what to expect: beyond-tiny rooms and smaller-than-standard beds, but updated bathrooms with wonderful showers, exceptional staff, and beautiful rooftop/lobby lounge areas. Very worth it for the price and unique experience. Doubtful you'll find anything else quite like this in the US.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo NY

Bowery House at Lower East Manhattan

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The only thing I liked about this hotel was checking out
Cons: Replacing the entire building would be an improvement
Location: No comment
My only mistake was to confuse the Bowery house with the Bowery hotel. The Bowery hotel is a great location to stay in but the Bowery house on the other hand is not.This mix up is common and the Bowery house takes precautions to keep unhappy customers money by having a strict no refund policy. The rooms in the Bowery house are 6ftx3ftx7ft room made from cardboard. You can hear every movement made by people in neighboring or adjacent rooms. The hotel lobby and rooms smelled heavily of cheap whiskey. There is only one communal shower and toilet on every floor which causes a lot of lost time due to queuing to use the facilities. Unfortunately I had already booked 3 nights with them so l had to switch hotels without getting a refund. I moved to the Ramada which had the same price, better location, and to a large extent better facilities than the Bowery House. Bowery house is located in an ominous neighborhood and l honestly would never set foot there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Great (but noisy) location

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Staff were very friendly, the condition of the hotel was great and the location was perfect for me. Yes, the rooms were tiny but the issue I had was that most people weren't very considerate of the open concept. There were doors slamming, music playing, etc from other rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Ashland, OR

Steerage on the Titanic

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Location, Decor, Linens, Soaps, Lobby, Rooftop, Security, Staff, Great recommendations for Gimme Coffee, Price
Cons: A shade or drape to pull over the ceiling to keep the light out at night, Maybe staff could pop through to keep it quieter at night.
Location: So Relax in Chinatown- Best foot massage ever! Gimme Coffee, 'Sleep No More', Dumpling Man, TheTaxi stand behind BP has amazing samosas $1 late night
The Bowery House is a lovely hostel in a fantastic location and you gain cool points for staying there. Everything from the stairs leading up to check in to the lobby to the furnishings has elegant simplicity and creates a luxuriously chill vibe. The cabins are exactly that, cabins. Thankfully they have a lattice ceiling to ease the claustrophobia but you will hear EVERYTHING (earplugs are provided) and the hall light may shine in your eyes. If you are over 5'5" prepare to curl up because that's the length of the bed. 4X6 is my best guess on the cabin's dimensions (It looked bigger online) That said, Tuesday through Thursday it was a fantastic place to crash after the whirlwind of NYC activities. The bathrooms are clean, showers hot, and the soaps smell delicious. Friday, your bed might as well be in the middle of the dance floor of the club below and you might hear some crazy monkey sex in another cabin, but hey, it's Friday night, in a hostel, in NYC, go along for the ride!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Soho hostel

Posted May 27, 2014
It is as expected...cabins are little storage units that you sleep in, wouldn't be too bad if the other guests weren't so noisy in the morning...they do supply ear plugs, so that is good...very clean. Beds are twins and are kind of short for 6' or taller folks...
2 out of 5
by Jack R

Great staff, awful room

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: Cleaning, a roof, door that locks.
Location: Great location
The staff are helpful, courteous and kind. The room is not really a "room", and it actually lacks a roof. So you can hear just about everything in any other "room". Super expensive for a hostel. And I am not sure they will be in business long as part of the building has been condemned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hostil

Posted May 15, 2014
You get a small room with a nightstand. It's very clean. The rooms have no ceilings so you can hear everything the your neighbors do. There's a sense of community in that people try to he quiet. Red Flower brand amenities in the shared bathroom, this is a big plus!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Reda from Seattle

Unique experience and strange movie atmosphere...

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: The roof and the neighborhood
Cons: heating and towel change and more smiles from receptionists hahaha
Location: Soho and its shops , Little Italy and pizza and china Town , and museums and souvenirs shops , a lot to see and do
Very good as experiment being used to more comfortable and stars hotels, and the neighborhood is very NY style like I was expecting, Soho, Little Italy and Chinatown. Metro station Prince St is close by walk and Brooklyn Bridge too and the Harbor too with an amazing view on upper Manhattan. The roof of the Hotel with it`s view is priceless and authentic of the area, I always take breakfast en dinner there to enjoy sunset and sunrise. Only the last day I asked to be waked the next morning at 7 am because I lost my phone and didn`t have an alarm, but no one come to my room to wake me up and I was late to the airport. But as a whole I liked the experience, despite some noisy people and the guy who works on the reception desk and is never smiling to me, I hope it was not because I am foreigner hahaha
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by marc from boston

On the Cheap

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: location in lower east side/price
Ok if you are open to the hostel experience. I was lucky in that there were no disrespectful guests on the nights I stayed there(except in the mornings). What I can say is be prepared to awake when everyone else does, I woke up at 7:30 to the slamming of doors, cell phones going off and media players blaring, and lines at the communal bathrooms. Much cheaper than a traditional hotel, but with costs in terms of privacy.
4 out of 5
by Art from Chicago, IL

Right in the City.

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: The style... It has a principle of trying to give you what you want but makes you stretch what you are expecting. It's a hostel afterall.
Cons: Put some ceilings on the rooms and soundproof them.
Location: Right around the corner from Little Italy and Chinatown. Lots of bars and restaurants.
Rooms are small but if all you need is a place for your stuff then this is what you need. The place is very clean. Feels like a high school or college/boarding house. The walls are very thin, you hear everything and everyone around you. No real sense of privacy. Not really a place for obese people.