Ratings based on 587 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great stay

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Hotel was clean and everyone was friendly and kind
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful Mountain Lodge

Posted Jul 22, 2014
I was hesitant about getting a room here due to conflicting reviews, but I was happy to have chosen this wonderful gem in the Pocono Mountains. The staff was very courteous and helpful. I was wondering the halls trying to find an ice machine and the housekeeping staff assisted me in finding the machine and even asked me if I needed help bringing the ice back to my room. The rooms were small as were the beds, but this place is over 100 years old (small rooms are normal in places this old). But everything thing has been updated to modern standards (wifi :) hurray!!).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Pleasant, helpful staff.
Cons: Coffee makers in the rooms!
Most pleasant hotel and surroundings......not new, but well kept, which just adds to the charm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stamford, ct

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: the entertainment for kids
Cons: the food at the bar and the sink in the room bathroom, it was clogged.
Has many entertaining options for kids, an arcade, a movie theater, indoor & outdoor pool, ping pong table and more.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Morgantown, WV

Never again!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was nice.
Cons: Staff and facilities updates.
Location: Out in the middle of no where and the weather has to be nice in order to do anything.
I was so excited to stay in a grand old hotel. Not so grand! It seemed like it hadn't been dusted in decades. I checked into the hotel around 9:00 PM and had to wait in line. The manager sat in the back and would not come out to help the desk clerk. Thus, the desk clerk tried to handle a couple people at a time and it took forever. Once in the room, the humidity was unreal. The air conditioner was not working and we needed to have someone come and "fix" it. They told us to leave the lights off because they generate too much heat. The AC fix lasted only a couple of hours and we were right back to the humid and 78 degrees in the room. There are also no fans in the bathroom so taking a shower only adds to the misery. When I checked out and told the desk clerk what happened, the manager did ask if I wanted a free breakfast. When I said no, she promptly ran to the back so as not to have to deal with the issue any longer. I will never stay here or tell anyone to stay here. I will
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

So much to do so little time

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Plan to spend at least 2 or3 days. You will not run out of things to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice with an old charm.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
The Inn was located were we could drive to areas we wanted to visit - kayaked the Deleware Gap- Adventures Sports, hiked the area and seen the Dingman's Falls, Raymondskill Falls . Biked in Jim Thorpe the Leigh river gorge. Hiked Hickory Run State Park, seen the boulder field and hiked other trails there. It was nice to go swimming and relax by the pool when we got back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great time to relax

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: There was a movie theater in the bottom of the Inn that screened any movie PG-13 or under. Pick the time and watch it on a movie screen!
Cons: The pools should be heated.
We were originally given a room overlooking the pool, but when my husband asked the front desk if there was a room with a view we could have, we were moved to a 3rd floor corner view with two sets of windows looking over the mountains! The inn felt nestled in the mountains, but was never more then a 10 minute drive to restaurants or stores. The Pocono area in general is full of things to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful hotel, lots to do!

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Had a wonderful time, can't wait to come back! The staff was super friendly, the hotel was very clean, there's plenty to do!my fiancée and I are planning our next getaway here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Central NJ

Historic Pocono Resort

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Nice location & stately charm.
Cons: Had some trouble with air conditioning system and the bed creaked.
Location: Close to the NYC metro area, Camelback water park , zip lines and Mountain Coaster and a Casino. Horseback riding nearby and golf on the property.
We had a short 3 day stay. We enjoyed the facilities, especially the pool and the grounds. The room was comfortable, except the central air conditioning system broke down for about a half a day and we had to move to another room. The breakfast buffet was very good and a reasonable price for the amount and variety provided, only $8.00 for children and $13 for adults. Would consider going back in the winter to Camelback Ski Area.