Ratings based on 484 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2015
It was great just didn't come clean my room everyday
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Great hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: On one occasion the room wasn't cleaned very well, and a couple of things didn't work very well, but these were very minor issues.
Location: Easy to get to from the airport. Very secluded (nobody trying to sell things on the beach).
We went there last year too. Had a great time both times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom El Paso, TX

Great hotel and excellent service.

Posted Dec 19, 2014
The hotel is excellent and it has a great staff. The hotel is 13 years old and some parts are showing it. If the hotel fixes this it will be an almost perfect hotel. They need to paint some parts, replace the tub, replace the room doors or repaint them to make them look modern, replace the old pool chairs. Otherwise, everything is in very good condition. The staff is super friendly and they all work really hard. The spa is one of the nicest ones compared to other Secrets reports, highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom North Bay, ON

Luxury for a great price

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Loved the luxury feel without being too pretentious and the staff was very kind and seemed genuinely happy to work there. The spa was spectacular!
Cons: Some of the rooms were loud and in kind of bad locations. More choices for vegetarians and picky eaters would be very welcome.
Location: Approximately 20 minutes from Cancun airport in Puerto Morelos. Easy drive to Cancun or Playa Del Carmen. Many activities nearby.
My husband and I just spent a wonderful week at Secrets Silversands and we couldn't be happier with the experience. The resort is beautiful and the staff is wonderful and seem to really enjoy working there which makes the time spent there even more enjoyable. We had a swim up room in the 1000 block and the pool was nice and quiet and the scenery was beautiful. They even had drink and food service at the private pools If we wanted more activity we could go to the main area. The rooms were very comfortable and clean (the cleaning staff was extremely thorough). The minibar was fully stocked at all times. The spa was spectacular! This is a must. The hydrotherapy and massages are amazing. My only complaints (and I wouldn't hardly call them that) were: 1. The first day it felt like they were trying to upsell us on a lot of things (wine, vacation club etc.) and we just wanted to relax; 2. The first room they tried to put us in was pretty beat up and right next to construction and smelled like sewer (they very quickly remedied the problem and relocated us); 3. Our second room was noisy at night since there seemed to be storage across the hall from us and doors were banged a lot and the ice machine is very noisy. It all echoes in the hall; 4. The food in many of the restaurants was a little too fancy (a lot of seafood and then a choice of duck or lamb, none of which I like, so very little choice for vegetarians or those who are fussier eaters), but what we had was phenomenal!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta, Canada

Great value excellent reef right off the resort.

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Beach was small but they worked very hard to make it clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Nova Scotia, Canada

Very nice hotel and friendly staff

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Secrets hotels always have excellent food with lots of verity, their staff are friendly and treated us well. The Resort is always keep clean and quiet
Cons: The water temperatures in the pools seem to be heated by the sun only, and after a few cloudy days it's a bit cool, the ocean feels warmer.
We had a great time with friends that we hadn't seen since our last Secrets vacation three years ago. We enjoy what Secrets Resorts have to offer and always lean towards them and have never been disappointed. There is no problems getting a lounge chair (six in a row) or getting a drink of any kind. They have a coffee shop that everyone on the resort appeared to enjoy, with fresh made soft pretzels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Almost perfect

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: The food.
Cons: You can't stop the seaweed, so nothing.
Location: We used CanadaTransfers to get to the hotel - it took only 25 minutes. Posted taxi rates were too high to make it worth while to travel off the resort
We stayed in an Oceon view room in December 2014 and found everything from the food, staff, distance to Cancun, rooms and activities. The only issue to prevent 5 stars across the board was the fact that the beach had too much seaweed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arkansas

This is our third trip!

Posted Nov 30, 2014
This is our third trip to this resort, and we're already planning our next. We've never had a bad meal there. The bars are great, have top shelf liquours (Gray Goose, Crown Royal, Patron, 1800, etc). The service and staff are always great, and the rooms are always clean. The spa and massages are also top notch. The only negative we've had was this trip, our shower never had hot water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Best place for our honeymoon

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: The food, drinks, staff and room
Cons: Increase menu choices at each restaurant
After months of searching, we ended up upping our budget for our honeymoon and it was soooooo worth it. Upon check in they give you a cold cloth and a glass of champagne. We got upgraded to an ocean front room with jaw dropping views. The staff is soo friendly, get you anything you need. The food was pretty good, better than we expected. El Patio was our favorite restaurant and Didier was the best server we have ever had. The Mexican themed night was amazing and the food was to die for. I can't say enough good things about this place. If you are looking for a medium size resort that is adults only this is the way to go... We are looking forward to our next trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom R

Best vacation ever!

Posted Nov 21, 2014
First of all I'd like to send a shout out to some of the most amazing staff I've ever met! Thank you Miguel, Jackie, Brenda, Moreno, Johnny, Luis, Didider, Renan, Pamela, Andrea & Selene. If you are looking for a hotel with Amazing staff, great food (including a very wide selection of Gluten Free options), beautiful rooms with super comfortable beds, a white sandy beach, great pools, lots of fun things to do and unlimited yummy drinks look no further! SSS is spectacular and I really cannot say enough about how much fun we had. At SSS they think of everything to make your stay memorable from personal touches from the maids when they clean your room to servers that go out of their way to make sure your dietary needs are met. The Entertainment staff is exceptional and are a large part of why I would definitely return to SSS. I definitely recommend playing water volleyball, blackjack, bingo and all they other fun things the Entertainment staff provide for you. Hope to see you all again very soon!