Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel right on seafront with wonderful view.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The magnificent view of the bay
Cons: The appearance of the hotel needs some work
Location: The north east coast has some wonderful sandy beaches.
Hotel is in a wonderful location and we had a room that had a magnificent view of the whole of Whitley Bay. Hotel is need of modernisation and it does have a nightclub attached but we were fully aware of this when booking and feel that we had such a great view that this made up for any negatives about the hotel. Lots of customers were complaining to the staff and were very rude to the lady on reception who handled the complaints with great patience but all the reviews for this hotel clearly state about its tired appearance and the noise from the nightclub so they only have themselves to blame, we feel we had value for money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shame!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Stayed twice in short space, first stay was with my 2 children. It was ok, room clean but tired looking, staff really friendly. Had to stay again at short notice with my 7 year ild girl and booked it via a different website and all I will say is that it was a farce. I will not stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton, UK

Large room with 2 double beds, overlooking the sea

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Its locality, Lovely sea views, staff.
Cons: Decor and furnishings, soundproofing the nightclub, more parking
Location: On the seafront, has its own nightclub, there a number of places to eat close by, a pub on the next corner, a short walk to the town itself.
Unfortunately the lift was out of order and we were on 2nd floor. Decor needs improving and updating, so do furnishings, but the size of the room and the seaview made it excellent value for the money. We had 2 double beds in our room, the beds were very comfortable and plenty of pillows. Breakfast was very good, although a couple of more options would of been nice. Parking is very limited for the size of the hotel, so this meant we had to return early each night to ensure of a parking space. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. One downside is the nightclub which operates from a Thursday to Saturday nights, and was 2 floors below us, was extremely loud till 3am, but it does state in the description about this so we were aware just did not realize it was so close, maybe some kind of soundproofing would help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ashington

Saturday night stay

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The room was very spacious and clean.
Cons: The decoration in the.hallways. The lift was scary.
Location: Sea opposite the hotel. Very much close to bars,restaurants and shops.
My husband and I stayed here after going to Mouth of the Tyne festival. I was aware that the Rex Hotel has a nightclub downstairs so this didn't mind this. The staff were friendly and breakfast was freshly cooked and very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very good hotel, on the promenade, nice sea view

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Room, staff, location, sea views
Location: ideal seaside hotel, well situated for Tynemouth, beaches and Newcastle
Very good hotel, reception excellent, good room with en suite facilities, sea views, very good breakfast, room was spotless, staff very friendly efficient and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by nik from dunfermline

budget hotel

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
cheap and cheerful near the nightlife in whitley bay. I would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Weekm from Airdrie

Good location

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good price location and service
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as good as previous stay

Posted May 6, 2014
A sad shadow of its former self. Having stayed on business before, it was never going to be the ritz, but now it is Run down and looking like it is on the verge of closing. No bar open or any form of refreshment available outside of breakfast it would appear. The few staff there were (seemed like only the poor girl in reception) were polite and friendly enough so no complaints there. Won't be returning unless some money spent on it's decor and overall condition.
1 out of 5
by Nina from London

Worst weekend break ever!

Posted Apr 28, 2014
The hotel is old, when we entered the room the wallpaper came down, there was mold everywhere so we requested a new room. This one was better but still not properly cleaned, the bathroom was covered in mold and the carpet was stained, the furniture worn down. On request they told us that there were no other rooms available within our price category. The breakfast was a joke, the omelet dry, poached eggs cooked through and the continental part consisted of pre-packed cereal, one juice and canned grapefruit. I don't even want to start talking about tea and coffee because you could not taste or see the difference, it was plain brown water. We couldn't sleep because the nightclub or the rooms were not soundproof so I was laying in bed singing along to Kelly Clarkson while hearing the party guests and DJ scream at each other (We were staying on the third floor...). If you want a nice and relaxing few days stay away from the Rex Hotel!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by iancass from crossford

lovely views and clean

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
clean hotel down out tastfully from the early 20th Century. Lovely friendly staff