Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Room was clean and comfortable, but dated.

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Room was clean and comfortable, small frig, microwave and coffee maker. Shower has been updated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

awesome beach....nice people

Posted Oct 20, 2016
nice and clean place....great people..nice area and beach area. will be back..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lakeland, FL

Great find!

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: The private beach had a huge deck chair and a hammock. Great place to watch the sunset with a glass of wine.
Cons: My room was a bit warm. The air conditioner wasn't very powerful. But really, do you go to The Keys to stay indoors?
As others have said, it doesn't look like much on the outside, but this is a sweet little hotel. The rooms are a little old, but mine was SPACIOUS. There is a wonderful private beach out back where you can watch the sunset. The man at the front desk represented true island charm. He was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga Ontario Canada

A lovely restful stay at a great old school resort

Posted May 6, 2016
Grest value and old school charm. We theoughly enjoyed the peaceful and private surrondings at the Blackfin. Very clean and safe place to stay on the Florida Keys.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin, tx

Old but well maintained.

Posted Apr 29, 2016
This place doesn't look like much from the street. It's old, it screams of a resort styled of yester-year, but the rooms were quiet and clean, everything was well maintained. The bathroom had been recently re-done. The pool was great and so were the views and charm of the harbor area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel for the Money

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Pros: Room was clean
This is a very nice hotel for the money. Not fancy however, comfortable and clean. The property is nice with beach chairs enabling a nice viewing area for the gulf.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Comfortable

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: new bathroom, strong shower
Location: convenient to Key West, one hour
overall kept clean, beds in good condition, close the great restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanat, GA

Enjoyable stay

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Pros: The atmosphere was very relaxing. The staff and other vacationers were friendly and helpful since it was our first trip to Marathon.
Cons: The bathroom was very small, but without a major remodel I don't think that can be remedied.
Location: It is an easy day trip to Key West, reasonable deep sea fishing prices and wonderful places to get fresh seafood.
Staff at Black Fin were very friendly and helpful. This was our first stay, but many of the folks staying there were repeat customers. The bathroom was very small, but other than that we were happy with the accommodations. Beds were comfortable and overall atmosphere was quiet and relaxing. Everyone was friendly and we were invited to a Mardi Gras party the first night arrived by folks staying in the marina. Centrally located in Marathon, so there were many places to visit and eat close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Inexpensive launching point for Scuba in the Keys.

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: Inexpensive, relatively clean, the private marina, the people docked at the marina, the neat garden walkways, the friend staff, fish in the swim area.
Cons: The tub was weird, it had water between the liner & the base. Felt like you were standing on a water bed.
Location: Many dive shops near here, Tildens is butted up to it. Hang out at the marina or head a short ways towards Sombrero Beach. Hurricane for nightcaps.
My friends and I were looking for a winter escape from the frozen north lands where we could do some diving. We locked down on Marathon and who we were going to dive with. As we just needed bunk space, Black Fin fit the bill nicely. Our trip down had already been frought with minor issues. Nothing terrible, but things were beginning to add up. We dealt with a screw up regarding the car rental. After a long flight & the hassle of the drive, we headed to the motel. We were welcomed by an enthusiastic man. He had everything waiting for our check-in. It was great, we were in our room within minutes of arriving at the motel. The room was clean and had a large mini fridge. There were a few areas where the room could use some general maintenance, but nothing to detract from the sleeping area. Everyone we talked to staying at the motel was friendly. The marina was a great place to walk around. The lighting they have in the water at night was neat on the moonless cloudy night. They had neat garden paths you could walk around. The cats generally hanging around the premise were around and hiding most of the time. They all seemed to be skittish if you would walk in their presence. If you want a place to end your night, the Hurricane is next door with food, alcohol, & games. Tildens also operates out of the motel marina. If you are looking for convenience that is an option. Captain Hooks is a short drive away and who we dove with.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Blackfin resort review

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Check-in is quick
Cons: Renovate the rooms, need to keep it quiet so people can't hear others' conversation in next room
Air-condition is noisy every single second. I can hear people talking in the next room or outside.